Affairs of Living

With my own nutritional program and strict diet guidelines for my brother with Autism, I have had to get creative with the special treats I make for him on holidays and other special occasions.

My little guy…

In preparation for these types of events, I did some research and found a cool little blog called Affairs of Living that offers incredible recipes for all types of restrictions.  There are offerings for dairy-free, gluten-free, chocolate-free, sugar-free, and so on.

This past year, I made carob crunchies inspired by Affairs of Living.  The general recipe is below, with some of my own edits.

If you prefer to eat grain-free, you could substitute finely chopped nuts or seeds or shredded coconut for the brown rice cereal (I used shredded coconut).  These can be kept at room temperature, but they soften, so store in the refrigerator for a firmer truffle.

  • 2-3 Tbsp carob powder (or cocoa powder)
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 6 Tbsp chopped nuts
  • 1/4 cup coconut
  • 2 tsp melted coconut oil (or flax oil, hemp oil)
  • 10-15 drops stevia liquid, or a tiny pinch of stevia extract powder, to taste

Place almond butter in a bowl with carob, stevia, and coconut oil and stir to combine, until mixture is smooth and well mixed.  Add 6 Tbsp nuts and stir gently until mixed.

Sprinkle about 1/4 cup of shredded coconut into a bowl or small plate.  Scoop out heaping teaspoonfuls (about 1-inch diameter) and roll into a little ball, then roll in coconut to cover.  If you don’t want the shredded coconut coating, you could also roll in carob powder, crispy brown rice cereal, powdered goji berries, or finely chopped nuts.

Serve immediately, or chill in the refrigerator until firm.

****

With a long bus trip in the future, I woke up at 5:45 this morning in order to get my workout/rehab in before we hit the road.  Today’s workout was a cardio combo with 30 minutes on the treadmill and 30 minutes on the elliptical, plus a tough set of abs. I found a great 10-minute pilates-inspired video on Pinterest, that I went through twice before I called it a day and made my way over to practice.

Off to prepare for BINGHAMTON!

Source: youtube.com via Mandy on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

