Inner Guidance

In my own healing, I have often counted on the expertise and intuition of other healers.  I have a long list of names of those who have helped me, and I will be eternally grateful.  However, I have found myself relying on others more than on my own intuition.  I call my nurse in the town next to me at least once a week to talk about this symptom or that condition or whether I can do this or participate in that.  She is patient with me and effectively listens to my ranting.  Now, I realize, that it is time for me to take some of my power back.  I have been going through a bit of turmoil within my being about doing what my body tells me to do, and I need to discover what that means.

So, it’s time for me to practice what I preach, correct?  I am adding a goal to my list: I want to listen to and trust my inner wisdom when it comes to exercise, food, and other types of decision making.  Part of this will include discovering how my body communicates with me.

First step, I believe, is to tap into what my body is saying when I am exercising.  I have been doing similar things every day because I have been conditioned to believe that this is the way that I will eventually progress.  But, I have been at a bit of a standstill for some time now.  I have this burning belief that I need to change it up and trust my inner wisdom that says some days I might need more than others.  I need to let go of my belief that more is better, and perhaps that by listening and following through, I will then progress.

So, step one, after I speak with the instructor, I am attending a power vinyasa class at NH Power Yoga this evening.  I have been dying to get back into yoga, but I have been letting other forms of exercise take precedent because of “calorie-burning” effects.  My goal, now, is to release these preconceptions on exercise and fitness and do what feels natural.  I suggest you do the same.  Namaste.

Image

(source)

Leave a Reply

