Boats, Oceans, and Irrigation

Water.  I love pretty much everything to do with the substance.  A sip on a hot afternoon, a warm shower after a sweaty yoga session, or listening to the rhythm of the waves on a summer evening.  Recently, I had a conversation with a friend from Colorado about the ocean, and she said she just did not get it.  She did not long for the Atlantic like so many of those of the East Coast.  Instead, she felt strongly for mountains.  To each his own…and I beg to differ.  My ultimate goal is to live somewhere that I can open my back door and walk out onto the sand.

Along with this theme, I adore everything to do with boats.  Someday, I want to own one.  In the meantime, I have to settle for another blue and white shirt from Nautica that I got today (on sale!)…

And a couple of sailor’s bracelets…

My love for the ocean and all things watery also inspired another goal: to live in Hawaii and work on a farm.  I am well on my way to achieving this one, as I bought my flights a few days ago.  I will be extending my summer and spending 5 and a 1/2 weeks in paradise as of August 27.

During college, I often thought about what I was going to do after I graduated, and I knew I wanted to do something on my own to decompress.  Also, I wanted to take advantage of health.  I never really had the itch to go abroad, but for some reason had this burning desire to be somewhere beautiful for awhile—Hawaii in particular.  Once I set the intention out there, all the pieces began to fall into place.  I looked at retreats and vacations, and none were feasible, and some of the other means of traveling did not seem safe.  However, I spoke of my wish to a friend, and he led me to Honolulu Farms, a small, private farm near Honolulu, behind Diamond Head and Waikiki.  I have talked with others staying there, and it sounds like proximity to the ocean and to the town, but a rural feel…heaven? I am excited to learn about farming and sustainable lifestyles, and I will be back in time for a friend’s wedding on the beach.

Summertime inspiration in Barnes and Noble this evening…

We are on the cusp of summertime, my friends, and it looks promising.

3 responses to “Boats, Oceans, and Irrigation

  1. Pingback: More of the Little Things | CleanCalmConditioned·

  2. 1. I love love love that shirt! and that’s something we both have in common, i love the nautical look! I own a pair of Sperry “boater” shoes that are so comfy and adorable and they give off that adorable boating-theme vibe! 🙂
    2. I love that C.S. Lewis quote at the end of the post! It’s def. something that I have been thinking a lot about!

    • Thanks Cayla, we just got a Nautica outlet in the town next to us so I’m PSYCHED. And, I believe we have the same Sperry’s! You will have to come on my boat…when it exists. xoxo

Leave a Reply

