Back in the Flow

Ever get in a funk, and no matter what you do, you simply cannot dig your way out of it? You wake up in the morning and realize you missed your alarm, and all of a sudden the day becomes a waste.  You forget your coffee on the counter, you hit every red light on your way, and everyone you approach seems to have a bad attitude.

I have to admit, it has been a while since I have had a full day of distress, but I can relate to letting something little knock me off course.  Every morning, I look forward to a delicious breakfast of a large vegetable frittata (90% vegetable, 10% cage-free egg), Ezekiel bread, almond butter, and a hearty banana.  When I finished my exercises this morning and opened the fridge to check that we had packed the almond butter, my heart sank when I realized it was not there.  I felt myself get angry.  I give myself few treats, and this is something I go to bed looking forward to.

My favorite snack…

Image

(source)

So, I let the lack of almond butter knock me off my path.  I spent a few minutes being upset, and then I let my higher self take over.  I did one of the things that helps me get back on track…I walked.  I let my mind wander for some time and then I tried to be totally present—feeling the ocean breeze, the rhythm of my footsteps, my abdominals contracting.  I went for about 4 miles.  Suddenly, all of my negativity was released, and now, I can peacefully enjoy my day. Balanced.  You simply cannot be near the ocean and have that kind of attitude! I will follow up with photos.

When you find yourself in that kind of funk, where something small can set you off, think about these options to help you find your center…

  • Listen to a song that makes you happy or reminds you of a good time

Mine the other day was “I’ll Be Waiting” by Adele…

  • Exercise
  • Shut it down for a minute, go somewhere you can be alone, and sit peacefully
  • Meditate
  • Listen to a comedian
  • Call someone who makes you feel good
  • Buy yourself some flowers
Image

These were a gift from a childhood friend I recently reconnected with.  About a week ago I was planning an outdoor party and the weather looked menacing.  I started feeling badly about it, and I let that take over my mindset.  However, when I walked in the house and saw my favorite flower, I could not help but feel elated.  So generous!  What do you know, it turned out to be a perfect day.

  • Write your feelings down on a piece of paper, get everything out, and then crumple it into a ball and throw it away.  Or burn it, if that’s what you need.

Enjoy your day!  If something tries to knock you off, let it run its course, and then find a circumstance that brings you back up again.

*****

A yummy, clean snack I wanted to share…

Image

Steamed broccoli and greens, organic tomatoes, organic chickpeas, beets, cucumbers, and some hot sauce, naturally.  Devoured in my backyard, my paradise.

Leave a Reply

